Paperwork… in Rambouillet.

Our ‘titre de séjour’ (resident permits) with our new address are ready to be picked up and for some reason we now have to fetch it at the préfecture in Rambouillet and not in Versailles. I don’t really mind, just a good excuse to see another place. For Danie it is a bit more difficult, because Versailles is on his way to work and Rambouillet is exactly in the opposite direction.
Yesterday I went to fetch mine and tried to get Danie’s as well, but this little card is too important to be given to somebody else. : ) He has to go himself… in person. : )

Rambouillet is about 30km South-West from us, so with the help of my GPS I drove to the address of the Hotel de Ville as there is a parking area. What I didn’t know was that Wednesday is market day in Rambouillet, and the parking was filled with vegetables, chickens, books and more. Not really a problem, I found a parking spot close by and could also browse through the market.

Hotel de Ville of Rambouillet

market day

I walked down Rue du Général de Gaulle

This street is filled with stree cafés , chocolatiers, boulangeries and boucheries…

all the way down to the préfécture at the bottom of the road

A quick stroll in the park where you can see that autumn is here…

and then to the beautiful Château de Rambouillet, which is the summer residence of the president of France.

The president’s backyard and garden…

The guards were not on duty, so I don’t think Monsieur Hollande is in Rambouillet at the moment… : )

Leave a comment